20
Aug
07

Fat March…so many things I can say

Some top fitness experts are angry over a new reality TV show called Fat March, which they say has contestants doing too much walking too fast, putting them at a high risk for injuries.

Fat March is the latest in a series of weight-loss shows like The Biggest Loser, which thrust heavy people into an inappropriate boot-camp environment, exercise experts say.

The participants, whose initial weight ranged from roughly 230 to 519 pounds, began by completing 65 miles in eight days of walking over a two-week period.

During the first two weeks of the march, a 274-pound female contestant quit because she said her lower back and feet hurt; a young man was rushed to the emergency room for dehydration. The heaviest contestant, the 519-pound man, was taken to the emergency room with blisters and possible stress fractures in his feet. On the second episode, when contestants were walking about 10 miles a day, several complained about aching knees, feet and ankles.“- From USA Today article – Aug 20, 2007

I submit this as another example of how fat is unhealthy.  If people over, let’s say, 230 are so healthy, wholesale with no exceptions as many people try to get me to think, what about the contestants on this show.  Experts are saying that walking several miles a day…not running…walking…is too much for these people to take physically.  If the typically healthy person could do this without injury…then doesn’t that mean that these people have compromised health?  I won’t get fractures in my feet from just walking 5-6 miles, and I’m not small or thin.

7 Responses to “Fat March…so many things I can say”


  1. August 20, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Well I hate to break it to these people, but working out is not as easy as laying on the couch and eating. It hurts. Get over it.

    I guess the experts have to play it safe so they don’t get sued…

  2. August 22, 2007 at 2:55 am

    While I’m definitely not agreeing that all overweight people are healthy with no exceptions (an obvious fallacy) I don’t think any of the contestants are as small as 230 pounds. Also, it doesn’t seem that they were active before the show started. I’m sure you could find some 230-pound people who do exercise regularly and who could handle the Fat March. Not me; I think I’d have to put in a lot more hours on the elliptical first. But some people, I’m sure!

  3. 3 QM
    August 24, 2007 at 3:03 am

    FAT MARCH, a concept that put all the contestants in danger with it’s 5, 7 and 8 mile walks within the first 5 days is simply irresponsible. This show could not possibly motivate anyone to walk. Too many contestants with Injuries, being taken to the emergency room, Dehydration, Plantar Fasciitis, Bone Spurs, and Low Blood Sugar. This is a poor concept. It amazes me how far reality television will go for ratings, even if it means putting the lives and health of people at stake.

  4. 4 LurkerGirl
    August 24, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Yes, exercise is more work than sitting around. I’d say, like many Americans, regardless of size, these people hadn’t walked much farther than the distance from their car to their front door, or around the mall, in years. Yes, most fat people are unhealthy. So are most low-fat people.

    Even at my heaviest, 423 pounds, I could walk that far and much further without any problems at all. I’ve traveled with a 90-lb pack on my back for 28 days, walking from 4 to 10 hours a day. I’ve climbed the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe on the same day–and covered more than 20 miles of Paris streets (most of the tourists [most were “thin”] took the elevator or stood around and stared up at the heights).

  5. 5 wriggles
    August 24, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    They’ve got up off their arses and are doing something, is that what annoys you so much? You people always complain when fat people get active, do you think it belongs to you?

  6. 6 spacedcowgirl
    August 24, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    I’m sorry, who are the “many” who “try to get you to think” that every fat person is healthy? I have never heard that message from anyone ever and if there are brainwashers on the loose who have enough free time and care enough to “try to get you to think” anything–much less that fat people are automatically healthy, which is as ridiculous as saying that thin people are automatically healthy–then I would like to know so I can put on a tinfoil hat or something before they get to me too.

    The fat acceptance community says it is possible to be fat and healthy… certainly not that you are automatically healthy if you are fat. I would have assumed the difference there was obvious, but your statement above makes me wonder.

  7. 7 Christine
    August 24, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    I don’t know that the “typical healthy person” (by which I’m sure you really mean “thin”) could do this without injury, either, if they’ve been leading a sedentary lifestyle. But where would the ratings be if they had recruited a bunch of thin couch potatoes or – gasp!- a bunch of already-active fat people?

    You’ve created a straw man argument. No one is trying to convince you that all fat people, everywhere, and without exception, are paragons of health by virtue of their weight. But then again, neither are all thin people – a fact that our society conveniently glosses over when talking about weight. Size alone doesn’t automatically determine your place in the healthy or unhealthy category.


Leave a Reply

